The Nagaland Electricity Regulatory Commission was established under the provisions of Section 82 of the Electricity Act, 2003 as a One-Member Commission to be known as Nagaland Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC) effective from the date of joining of office of the first Member.

Er. S.I. Longkumer who was appointed as Chairman-cum-Member of the NERC was declared to be the first Member of the Commission and he shall also be its first Chairperson. The Commission was thus established since his oath-taking and induction as Chairman-cum-Member on 4th March, 2008.

The Government made an initial setup of a lean Commission (One-Member Commission) with minimum supporting officers & staff to get the NERC operationalised in order to fulfill the statutory requirement. The Commission presently i.e., since its inception till 2012, is operating with a functionally-deficient establishment in matters of required functional disciplines; which require to be mitigated, through various actions.

Developed & Maintained by I-Solutions